## Ordinance 2020-18 Monroe County BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS Extending the COVID-19 Monroe County Emergency Declaration

Come now the Monroe County Board of Commissioners ("Commissioners"), who, through Ordinance 2020-16 ratified the Presiding Officers March 16<sup>th</sup> declaration of emergency and extending it to April 1<sup>st</sup>, and state the following:

**WHEREAS**, on March 23, 2020, Indiana Governor, Eric J. Holcomb, issued Executive Order 20-02, placed a "stay in place" order; and

**WHEREAS**, when the Governor utilizes his executive authority to declare an emergency, Indiana Code 10-14-3-12 and 10-14-3-17, provide political subdivisions the ability to respond and to waive procedures and formalities, where necessary; and,

WHEREAS, on March 18, 2020, the Monroe County Board of Commissioners, pursuant to Monroe County Code 450, extended the Monroe County emergency declaration until April 1, 2020; and

**WHEREAS**, because Indiana is facing a Public Health Emergency and because of the pressure, uncertainty, and financial tension resulting from the outbreak of COVID-19, the Monroe County Board of Commissioners wish to extend the emergency until April 16, 2020.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF MONROE COUNTY, INDIANA, AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. Declaration of Emergency Status Extension

Through the authority granted to Monroe County government by various provisions of state and local law, including but not limited to Indiana Code 10-14-3-17 and Monroe County Code Chapter 450, the Monroe County Board of Commissioners and extend the emergency through April 16, 2020.

Section 2. Effect on Ordinance 2020-16

All other provisions of Ordinance 2020-16 remain in effect.

<u>Section 3.</u> Effective Date and Severability

This Ordinance takes effect upon passage by Monroe County Board of Commissioners. Any subsequent legal or administrative action which may be necessary for the furtherance of this Ordinance is hereby authorized. Should any provision of this Ordinance be found unenforceable or invalid, the remaining portions remain in effect.

Approved this day of County, Indiana.	, 2020, by the Board of Commissioners of Monroe
"AYES"	"NAYS"
 Julie Thomas, President	

Lee Jones, Vice President	Lee Jones, Vice President
Penny Githens, Member	Penny Githens, Member
ATTEST:	, Catherine Smith, Auditor